Next Generation Emulation banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I read a few threads that didn't help me much and didn't feel like making 5 new discussions for my questions so I kind of compiled them all in one with 5 topics. It's more personal for me because I have a lot of things going on that could interfere with each other. The other fact is yes I'm a noob and I just got my emulator working 5 weeks ago. It was painfully slow at first but I worked out some things and it's "playable" now. I been trying to do it on my own for awhile and I came here for the last draw.

System Specs:
HP (laptop) - Windows XP pro (I'm waiting for the new OS to come out)
BIOS v. 1.00 PARTTBL (not sure if BIOS has anything to do with this)
Genuine Intel(R) (this is probably my problem) CPU T2050 @1.60 GHz (2 CPUs)
1gig RAM
Direct X9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
Nvidia Geforce GO 7400 (then elsewhere I have a tag saying 7600...)
32 bit
I'm not even going to mention what sound processor I have which is probably why I'm not getting that much of it.

Direct3D acceleration: on
AGP Texture Acceleration: on

The version of Dolphin that I'm using is 1.0.0.3 which I think is the latest (I get confused).

Here are my questions in topic view:

Version
My first question is is there any difference between the emulator versions you use? Would you get better results if you used an older version?

Compatibility
Not sure at first if compatibility is graphic or version-related but you can tell me otherwise. If you were to move plugins from a slightly older version would they work in the newer one and such and such?

Graphics
First questions first, is it completely necessary to have dualcore to gain a higher frame rate? Is there anything I could do with my graphic card to make it the least bit faster? Also, I tried using GCos but I'm still unsure how that works even after demonstration videos.

Sound