Next Generation Emulation banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

· Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone.
I'm still pretty new to this hole Playstation emulation scene, but I've started playing good old' classic RPGs, and I figured I'd see what my PC can do to enhance that experience.

1. I notice I get slow downs in some games even when my FPS are at a solid 60 (59.9 to be exact). I imagine this is because the emulator is using the PS's hardware specs... so these are unavoidable, right?

2. There are some areas were in a some games were my actual FPS dip into the 20-40s and I'm not exactly sure why. Cards temps are incredibly low (35s), and I don't see anything on the screen that would justify such a drop. Perhaps my settings are not optimal... (example, the intro scene battle scene in Xenogears)

3. There seems to be a default set of keys that ePSXe uses for misc. things (FPS display, screenshots, save states, etc) I've searched the installed directory, but I can't seem to find a list of these keys... Could anyone tell me what these keys are, or direct me to where I can find out?

4. How do I enable Full Vram?

My PC Specs : P4 @ 3.2GHZ, ATI x800xl, 1.00GB of Ram
My Video Settings :
Plugin: Pete's D3D Driver 1.1.76
Author: Pete Bernert
GFX card: Sapphire RADEON X800XL

Resolution/Color:
- 800x600 Fullscreen - [32 Bit]

Textures:
- R8G8A8A8
- Filtering: 6
- Hi-Res textures: 0
- VRam size: 0 MBytes

Framerate:
- FPS limit: on
- Frame skipping: off
- FPS limit: Auto

Compatibility:
- Offscreen drawing: 3
- Framebuffer texture: 2
- Framebuffer access: 3
- Alpha multipass: on
- Mask bit: off
- Advanced blending: hardware

Misc:
- Scanlines: off [0]
- Unfiltered FB: on
- Dithering: on
- Screen smoothing: on
- Full vram: off
- Game fixes: on [00004800]

(EDIT - I also leave my screen resolution at 800x600 because I run ePSXe on TV-OUT, since PS textures look damn ungly without a TVs blurr effect)

· Registered
654 Posts