Next Generation Emulation banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Right, i just started playing fire red the other day, but already have about 20 hours played, so im reluctant to start all over.
Anyways, i simply downloaded the vba 1.8.0 beta3 that was being recommended, not knowing that it would limit me on a great deal of pokemons.
So when i wanted to evovle my kadabra and found out i needed to trade it, i shortly after found out that i needed a vba link version, in which my save file doesnt work.

Ive tried 1.7.2 link version and 1.8 link version... on the 1.7.2, the game wouldnt start at all.
On the 1.8, the game starts, but immidiately the picture in vba goes purple and it freezes. This happens when i try to load the Pokemon - Fire Red1.sgm file.
The files Pokemon - Fire Red.sa1 and 2 doesnt respond at all... when i start the application and open Pokemon - Fire Red.GBA, that works fine... but when i try to import the sa1 file, nothing happens.

Now, ive tried to battle with this for a quite a few hours already, so i really hope that theres some kind souls who can help me :)

·
Hackin 'n Slashin
28,630 Posts
where did you get the sa1 file from? Did you just rename the .sgm? Because that's wrong. .sgm is a Save State and usually isn't transferable between emulator versions (especially not backwards) so you would have to make a battery save (A save using the game's save menu as you would on a real GBA) which will create a .sav and with that you can then do the sa1 and 2 thing.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I only mentioned the sgm to say that i had tried that aswell... obviously i didnt rename the sgm to sa1, dont be daft -_-

But as said, the sav files (wether renamed or not) does not work.

·
Hackin 'n Slashin
28,630 Posts